Robert Ivy Is Helping The World Through Architecture

Robert Ivy is an architect and a leader with a vision in the industry. He keeps abreast of how the world changes and how architecture can be of assistance. His ideas and involvement in how people thrive and live led him to become the Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of the American Institute of Architects in 2011.

Robert is leading the new and seasoned architects to address the events of the 21st century including building for the increase of the population, Climate Change, and other issues. He is shifting the sights of the AIA into becoming a more responsive, proactive business to serve the communities.

His 14 years of experience have fine tuned his multi tasking skills during his stay at McGraw-Hill as Vice President and Editorial Director from 1996 to 2011.

Roberts’ leadership included Record in China with 16 websites in addition to the publications of GreenSource, Regional Publications, Engineering News and Architectural Record.

Robert steered the editorial helm of the Architectural Record and won many awards.
* Their outstanding “Magazine Journalism” was awarded 26 Jesse H. Neal Awards.
* They won seven Ozzies for “Folio Design”.
* The 2008 MPA Digital Award for the “Website of the Year” for Enthusiast.
* The American Society of Magazine Editors National Magazine Award for “General Excellence”.

He was published in 2001 as the author of Fay Jones The Architect. She was the apprentice of Frank Lloyd Wright and was recognized for her high standards of design, production, and scholarship by the Art Library Society of North America.

Robert studied at the University of the South with a Bachelors of Arts degree in English and a minor in French in 1969.

Then he attended Tulane University and was awarded the Masters of Architect degree in 1976.

He was also made an Honorary Member of the Tau Sigma Delta Society.

The Alpha Rho Chi is an Architect Fraternity that honored him for the “Effectiveness in Communicating the Value of Design”.
He shares the company of Architect Icons obtaining the “Master Architect” Degree.
* I.M. Pei.
* Mies van der Rohe.
* Richard Buckminster Fuller.

Robert made history as one of seven people that have received this award from the Architect Fraternity in their 100 years of existence and the 21st centuries only winner to date.

Learn more about Robert Ivy:

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts